|
ONLINE DATABASES
FEATURING:
KYVL |
Genealogy and History
|
Notable Kentucky African Americans
LearningExpress
Music Online |
MANGO Languages
Auto Repair Reference Center
Small Engine Repair Reference Center
Kentucky Revised
Statutes

The state of Kentucky provides a wealth of
online databases along with a valuable collection of Kentucky
resources for all its citizens. Called KYVL, or Kentucky Virtual
Library, access is FREE to all citizens of the state.
Contact your public library to
request the free ID and password that are required for access to SOME
areas of KYVL, or to ask a librarian for assistance with using the
site.
-
What is
KYVL?
-
How do I get a username and password for KYVL?
-
How to Use KYVL
-
How to Do Research
-
Kentuckiana Digital
Library
- a fascinating collection of
electronic texts, digital images, and archival finding aids for
historical items from all around the state. Does not require an
ID or password.
-
NoveList
- a fiction database that provides subject heading access,
reviews, annotations, and much more for over 125,000 fiction titles.
It also includes other content of interest to fiction readers, such
as Author Read-alikes, Book Discussion Guides, BookTalks, Annotated
Book Lists, and more... NoveList allows readers to use a favorite
author or title as a template to locate other authors and titles of
interest. Click on the "Learning Center" for
easy tutorials on how to use NoveList. Here's how to get started
using this extremely useful tool:
-
Go to
http://www.kyvl.org,
then choose "For Students" - then choose
either "High School" or "Middle School."
-
Enter the KYVL ID and password
if requested (available from your librarian).
-
Click on the button for
NoveList.
The Paris-Bourbon County Public Library
pays an annual subscription fee for these databases, then
provides licensed access to local library patrons FREE OF CHARGE.
These genealogical databases are
powerful online libraries for beginning and professional
researchers. Included are census, birth, marriage, death, immigration
and military records and much, much more.
For access via the Internet, you will
need your Paris-Bourbon County Library membership card; enter the bar
code number on the back of the card (14 digits with no spaces).
If you are visiting via the Internet
and do not have a card from this library, check with your own local
libraries to see if they offer similar access.
In addition, these databases are
freely available to everyone:
-
In the First Person
- An index to oral histories,
letters, and diaries from archives all over the world, covering
every subject imaginable. Imagine seeing into the minds of millions
of people from 1600 to today, reading their stories, even linking to
video and audio in many instances.
-
Kentucky Land
Office Databases - includes city
filings, Virginia & Old Kentucky patent series, Revolutionary War
warrants, and much more.
Notable Kentucky African Americans
(NKAA) Database
Access Database
Free access!
Sponsored by the University of Kentucky Libraries, this is the first
database developed to provide biographical and historical information
concerning African Americans in a particular U.S. state - Kentucky. A
free electronic collection of data about people, places, and events in
Kentucky, along with details that reveal the extent of their influence
well beyond the state border. Links and sources will lead you to
additional information on each topic.

Click here to start using Mango Languages online - Basic & Complete
NEW!
Mango MOBILE - for your iPhone, iPod, or iPad!
Mango TAKE-OUT - Check out a USB drive pre-loaded with the
Mango Basic course for Spanish, French or Mandarin Chinese - runs
on your computer, NO need for an Internet connection - ask at the
circ desk!
Mango Languages is an online
language-learning system teaching actual conversation skills for a
wide variety of languages. An online learning system is so easy to
use, you'll see incredible results after just one lesson!
Choose Mango Basic lessons to learn polite speaking skills, or Mango
Complete if you already know the basics and are ready to dive deeper
into a language and culture.
Provided free by the library to all registered
patrons - free access from any library computer, OR from any outside,
Internet-connected computer by using the bar code number on your
library card. Conversational emphasis, proven practice techniques.
Learn Spanish, French, German, Italian,
Brazilian Portuguese, Russian, Mandarin Chinese, Japanese, Greek... or
other languages, as more are added to Mango.
Learn English! Special courses for Spanish,
Polish, and Brazilian Portuguese ESL learners.
If you want to stop and start lessons as needed,
you will need an email account and your library card to create a Mango
account. OR you can start learning immediately without an email
account!
Skill
Building Courses, e-Books, and Interactive Test Preparation
for all ages. Craft resumes and cover letters, prepare for interviews, study for
exams, and more.
Click here to start using LearningExpressLibrary
Searchable e-Book study
guides!
Whatever your goal, Learning Express Library's resources will help
you succeed. Each Learning Center offers the practice tests,
exercises, skill-building courses, and information you need to
achieve the results you want—at school, at work, or in life. Looking
to land a job? You'll find an entire Learning Center dedicated to
helping you get the one that's right for you.
@
Your Library OR @ Home!
Anywhere you can get to the Internet,
you can use this online interactive resource.
As a registered patron of this library,
you have unlimited FREE access
to LearningExpressLibrary.

Music Online Databases
NEW!
MUSIC MEDIA MONTHLY Newsletter -
your guide to the best recent (and sometimes
not-so-recent) music-related books, videos, websites and sound
recordings.
This online service expands the
library's collection to include many thousands of wonderful music
recordings while minimizing the problems of dealing with CDs and shelf
space. Both beginning and advanced users will want to use the service
for teaching, learning, research, and sheer enjoyment.
This is a subscription service, offered
for FREE to our own library patrons only. Simply enter your library
card number (14 digits, no spaces) for a completely free and
amazing listening experience.
Note: There is a limit on the number of users
who may access the music online databases at the same time. If you
have difficulty connecting please report the problem to library staff,
or wait a bit and try again later.
Four musical collections are
now offered:
AFRICAN AMERICAN
SONG
Access Database
CLASSICAL MUSIC
LIBRARY
Access Database
SMITHSONIAN GLOBAL
SOUND
Access Database
CONTEMPORARY
WORLD MUSIC
Access Database
You can also access all of the available collections through the
Music Online interface.
The
Auto Repair Reference Center (ARRC) database contains the
most comprehensive collection of automobile repair reference
information in the market. ARRC contains information on most major
manufacturers of domestic and imported vehicles.
The database covers more than 35,000
vehicles from 1945 to present. Content includes nearly 857,000
drawings and step-by-step photographs, approximately 99,000
technical service bulletins & recalls issued by the original
equipment vehicle manufacturer, over 158,600 enhanced wiring
diagrams for easy viewing and printing, specifications &
maintenance schedules, Labor Time Guide & Estimator, AutoIQ, Quick
Tips (a complete guide to vehicle ownership & maintenance) diagnostic information and much more. New repair procedures, TSBs
and updates are continually added to the product. All of the
content in Auto Repair Reference Center
has been created by ASE certified
technicians.
This is a subscription service, offered
for FREE to our own library patrons only. Simply enter your library
card number (14 digits, no spaces) for completely free access from
anywhere you connect to the Internet.

Small Engine Repair Reference Center™
is the definitive online tool for small engine repair assistance,
including: ATVs, commercial mowers, farm tractors, generators,
motorcycles, marine (boats), outdoor power equipment, PWC
(personal watercraft/jet ski), snowblowers, snowmobiles, tillers
and other small engines. This comprehensive resource contains 410
reference books in full text with original photos and
illustrations that guide the user through every job. The
database often contains more than 25 years of an engine model, and
offers assistance in providing routine maintenance, such as
tune-ups and brake service, as well as extensive repairs involving
engine and transmission disassembly. Also, the database allows
users to select a type of product, specific brand, specific
model/engine type, and specific area of that model/engine type.
Additionally, model numbers are also searchable.
Simply enter your library
card number (14 digits, no spaces) for completely free access from
anywhere you connect to the Internet.
|